• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

CartoCanuck

CartoCanuck

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, geography, design, crafts, knitting, gardening, hiking, canoeing, camping
  • Canada

My question is kinda cartographic in nature, mostly GIS related about employment. I saw the other forums for both of these topics - but there are more recent postings in this forum.

I'm a student, studying GIS by distance at home. I live in a small town and am not interested in commuting hours to work each way.

I would ideally like to work from home, not as a freelancer - because I have zero experience, other than course work. I would like to work as an employee either part time or on contract - from home.

1. Is this possible?

2. How would I get access for company files, information, using Arc or sharing data etc.

3. What kind of technology would allow me to do this?

4. Is this what working remotely means?

5. What is Enterprise GIS and does this allow me to work from home?

Thanks.

tangnar

tangnar

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Interests:Rivers, Urban Design, Geomorphology, Bicycling, Outdoors
  • United States

1) I've never looked for part time or contract employment like this, but I'm sure there's some possibility of it...

2, 3, 4, 5) These are IT questions... just depends on their IT setup.Enterprise GIS means the GIS infrastructure is managed centrally and users get access to software via licenses stored server. Most commonly in my experience (though I'm no IT person), a company network is accessed remotely through a Virtual Private Network (VPN), which gives you access to servers, files, etc... 

Or you could find work that requires you to have your own GIS setup and all of the file sharing is done through transferring data in some cloud (like Google Drive or Dropbox), and you do your work locally on your computer. It really probably varies in every situation.