• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

ohmymaps

ohmymaps

• Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United Kingdom

Hi all,

I have been playing with making night time maps of cities as seen from space for the last year. Its taken a while, but I'm finally happy with the results and would like any opinions and critiques.

They mirror the shots as taken by the astronauts from the ISS which i absolutely love, but when i wanted to print a poster of the London image i found that they were all too blurry or too small to look good...so i set about making my own.

The road information is Openstreetmap of course, and every road is in there. The prints look great for close up viewing up to 1mx1m and i am currently perfecting a technique involving 3d software (my profession is as a broadcast 3d animator and compositor) that will allow for much closer maps, with far higher detail.

Here is a link to some higher res images.

Thank you for looking and i welcome all crits and opinions...

https://www.flickr.c...s/23234919@N03/

Attached Thumbnails

• OMMHELSINKIL.jpg
  • OMMSANFRANL.jpg
  • OMMPARISL.jpg
  • OMMLONDONL.jpg
  • OMMCHICAGOL.jpg
  • OMM_NYC.jpg

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,420 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

They look very nice, good luck! But I guess they are not strictly night time light/maps - they are actually street network maps with a nighttime look?

Hugo Ahlenius
Nordpil - custom maps and GIS
http://nordpil.com/
Twitter

david17tym

david17tym

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • United Kingdom

lovely effect Marc, can I ask are you applying the luminosity simply by road catergory?

I use the word "simply" not as a criticism - some of the most effective design is often the simplest...

ohmymaps

ohmymaps

• Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United Kingdom