• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

François Goulet

François Goulet

Ultimate Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 688 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, History, Graphic Design and almost everything else...
  • Canada

Hi guys!

I've been doing this for 10 years and each time, for each new project when I have to give a quote, I sit looking blankly at my screen and come up with a estimated number of required hours 10 minutes later.

For my regular client (those I know won't change their minds 10 times), I often give a fixed amount as an all-included package. As I normally underestimate the time it's going to take, I multiply my estimate by 1.5... Sometime I loose, sometime I win.

Do you have a form or a particular method to estimate your time on a project? 

I'd like to have a better method than the total guess I'm doing now (I have enough experience so it's an educated guess, but nonetheless...)

Thanks!

Bogdanovits

Bogdanovits

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 30 posts
  • Interests:map history
  • Australia

try using a project management software (like the free www.openproject.org) to estimate and/or modify tour time.

Daniel Huffman

Daniel Huffman

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • United States

I also have trouble with estimates. I usually tell clients an hourly rate, and bill by the hour. This way I don't come out on the losing end, if things run long. I give them an estimated # of hours, and warn them as I go, if it looks like I'm going to take much longer. I don't know if it comes off as less professional, less put-together, to do it this way, but so far it's worked. I track my project times on a spreadsheet, since I need them for billing; but then I delete when I'm done. What I really should do, and haven't done before, is keep a permanent record of how long each one took, so I can go back and look over them when making a new time estimate.

Charles Syrett

Charles Syrett