4 replies to this topic

mcallisterw

mcallisterw

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • United Kingdom

Greetings all.

I have an issue with exporting a map as a jpeg from ArcMap. I have a nicely designed colour scheme, yet when I try to export it as a jpeg, the colours change.

I would post an example to show you the difference in colours, but unfortunately, even taking a screenshot results in the colours being mutated. Basically the built-in colour 'medium lime' (which is one of the muted pallete of colours to the bottom of the colour selector) comes out as a lurid pea-green in the jpegs. I also have the built-in colour 'lemongrass' in my map, which stands out just enough against the 'medium lime' to be visible, but as a background feature, however in the jpegs the two are indistinguishable.

As a professional photographer I recognise this as a colour-space issue, whatever colour-space ArcMap displays maps in, isn't compatable with jpegs, and this true of every other format ArcMap can export to, including AI files but excluding EMFs, which can be viewed in windows at the original colours. However an EMF file on its own doesn't have many uses, I need to convert it to something else to upload it to websites where I wish to use the map and when I do, the colours mutate again.

I know I need to access ArcMap's colour-space settings and get it to use a colour-space which doesn't require conversion, but I can't find these anywhere.

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,304 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

If you create a simple map with a specified RGB color, does it change it on JPEG export?

Hugo Ahlenius
Nordpil - custom maps and GIS
http://nordpil.com/
Twitter

mcallisterw

mcallisterw

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • United Kingdom

If you create a simple map with a specified RGB color, does it change it on JPEG export?