hasecbinusr

hasecbinusr

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • United States

Hello all,

I have been doing graphic design and programming for about eleven years, but moved into the geospatial realm about five years ago. As a designer, I've noticed that my approach to producing maps is quite different than classically trained GIS folks. While not a true cartographer, I find the specialty is closest to describing my skill set. I think of maps as scientific data packaged in artistic wrapping. My experience is mostly centered around ArcGIS and Adobe, but I do dabble in open source solutions from time to time. As a firm believer in the open source model, I am now seeking to replicating and refining my workflow in an open source context.

I look forward to sharing experience and learning from this community.

M

DaveB

DaveB

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,057 posts
  • United States

Welcome!

What is a "true cartographer" anyway? :P

• natcase likes this
Dave Barnes
Esri
Product Engineer
Map Geek

hasecbinusr

hasecbinusr

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • United States

In my mind, cartography is more the art of making maps. Graphic design is the art of making effective graphics. And I fall somewhere in the middle, in that I try to make effective map-based graphics.

Dennis McClendon

Dennis McClendon

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,084 posts
  • Interests:map design, large-scale maps of cities
  • United States

Welcome, and please start some discussions about design.  We need more of those.