• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

thumbtel

thumbtel

• Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United Kingdom

Hi all,

I am new to cartography and adobe illustrator and I have no idea about writing code or scripts for some map design programs. I am using Google Styled Maps (http://gmaps-samples...zard/index.html) to create an extremely basic city map that when styled shows only roads (as white colour) over a black background. Absolutely nothing else in the map. To create a large city map I am saving dozens of Static Map images as .png's and then stitching them together in illustrator to form a larger area map. Time consuming and frustrating! Can anyone advise of a better way of doing this, if one has no experience/knowledge of more advanced map design software. Is there a simple program I could use?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks,

Jim

ProMapper

ProMapper

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 216 posts
  • Interests:promapper@gmail.com
  • India

Hi Jim

I could not understand from your post whether you want a static map through Illustrator or a dynamic online map say through OpenLayers?

Now I assume that you want a static map; say for your website or for print. For such a map you can import data into Illustrator through GIS tools like Avenza Mapublisher which is plugin. You can always get a 15 day trial from Avenza. Once you have GIS data in Illustrator you can format, generate labels and do lots of things with that. I have done a very quick change of specs to black background and near white roads etc to an already done London map in Illustrator. I have attached that with this post.

I use Avenza Mapublisher to import GIS data in Illustrator, please do review some of the maps that are available on my website http://www.mapsandlocations.com

If you want then I could help you out in making your map, do send me a mail. And yes, welcome to the world of Cartography.....

Anu

http://www.mapsandlocations.com

Attached Files