• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

François Goulet

François Goulet

Ultimate Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 688 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, History, Graphic Design and almost everything else...
  • Canada

Hi!

I'm moving in 3 weeks and while packing, I stumble upon the box containing everything from my master degree (in History).

For my thesis, I create 9 maps, before I had any cartography training. I thought it would be fun to share our first step into mapping! :)

Context: I studied the king's Council of Philip VI, king of France (1328-1350) through the king's acts. This map show the number of acts commanded by the Council or Councillors and which area they concern (I was looking for a pattern).

It's far from perfect, the diverging color ramp is wrong, but I think it's still good.

It was made in Illustrator.

Your turn! ;)

Attached Files

ProMapper

ProMapper

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 216 posts
  • Interests:promapper@gmail.com
  • India

The French on your map reminded me of Minard's visualization of the self destructive  Napoleon's March to Moscow, probably the very first scientific cartographic visualization....

Here is the link http://upload.wikime...2/29/Minard.png

Dennis McClendon

Dennis McClendon

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,083 posts
  • Interests:map design, large-scale maps of cities
  • United States

August 1977.  Not my first map—but my first published map.  I was editor of my college newspaper and this, among other labors of love in producing my first issue, caused me to pull an all-nighter and then fall asleep at a rock concert.

Anyway, I'd recently discovered technical pens.  This map was traced from the Oklahoma state highway map's Tulsa inset, but those dual-line freeways are hand-drawn.  The lettering, too.  Interesting that I seemed to know the river should be labeled in italics.