• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

skitterm

skitterm

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • No Country Selected

I am currently finishing up a BS in Geography with a GIS emphasis. I love cartography and wish to pursue this further. what schools in the United States (or Canada or England, for that matter) have cartography master's programs, or at least geography programs with a strong cartographic design angle? I've heard of Penn State, but I don't know about any others.

Thanks.

loximuthal

loximuthal

Key Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 97 posts
  • United States

I can strongly recommend University of Oregon (my alma mater). Although Bill Loy ("one of the country's most influential teachers of cartography, mentoring a number of students who went on to carve out distinguished professional careers as mapmakers" - AAG obituary), who I studied under, has since passed on, the department still has a very strong program.

The weather is better in Eugene than State College, too ;)
Andy McIntire
US Census Bureau

beetle

beetle

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • United States

I am currently finishing up a BS in Geography with a GIS emphasis. I love cartography and wish to pursue this further. what schools in the United States (or Canada or England, for that matter) have cartography master's programs, or at least geography programs with a strong cartographic design angle? I've heard of Penn State, but I don't know about any others.

Thanks.

This appeared in a google search:

http://www.universit...artography.html

manofthewild07

manofthewild07

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United States

I'll throw out there, Michigan State University. They've got a large and top notch geography department...

cartograph1978

cartograph1978

• Pip
  • 2 posts
  • India