• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

gph

gph

• Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United States

Hello there,

I'm new to this arena and am looking for some suggestions as to how to achieve the following, using appropriate GIS software plus macros / programming as necessary (not the step-by-step - but pointers to the right software / combinations of software):

1) I want to create two map-based products a) a PDF-based Atlas that tracks the locations of certain places of interest around the world, both on a single global map, as well as as on maps for certain individual countries, and B) an online-based map, containing the same info, but allowing the user to zoom in, click for more info etc.

2) I would like to be able to update the tables in a simple database, spreadsheet or other file, on a monthly basis, and using either a macro, or some in-built feature, have the new info automatically update in the PDF Atlas online, with a minimum number of steps. Preferably it would be fully automated.

I am familiar with Adobe Illustrator so have been looking intently at the Avenza MAPublisher product, which looks great, including the geospatial PDF production capabilities and the online Maps API. but is there a way to set up this plugin, so that I can update the tables of GIS info, and have the files automagically update, including the online stuff?? Not looking for real-time updates - a manual (or timed) refresh would be fine. Oh - and I am using a Mac.

Thanks!

GPH

Edited by gph, 04 March 2012 - 01:53 AM.

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,882 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands