Bilal

Bilal

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Palestinian Territory

Hello all,

Is anybody there can help me to find a free DEM sample for Palestinian territory,

i Have a set for contours but im new to this topic

i want to great a topographic map

canvas101

canvas101

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
  • United States

Hello Bilal,

There are many commercial pieces of software that can convert your contours into a DEM. My personal favorite is GlobalMapper. Basically you would import the contours select them and then create a grid specifying the grid spacing and a few other parameters. After that export a DEM and/or Shaded Relief. Hope this helps.

Regards

Bilal

Bilal

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Palestinian Territory

Thank you

Earthscientist

Earthscientist

Contributor

• PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • No Country Selected

Hello all,

Is anybody there can help me to find a free DEM sample for Palestinian territory,

Manifold System contains a version of the DEST algorithm. This objective* algorithm is a form of triangulation and will produce hydrologically sensible DEMs from point elevation values and/or contours. The results are very good when the spatial distribution of the input elevation values is dense and relatively uniform., but faceting is apparent when this is not the case.

*Requires no input by the user to control/guide interpolation - hence it an objective interpolator

Igor Brejc

Igor Brejc

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts
  • Slovenia

Hello all,

Do you really need your contours as a source? It would be much easier to just use NASA SRTM DEM data, it's in public domain.
You can generate contours, hillshading etc using Maperitive, here's a sample hillshading + hysometric + contours map around Dead Sea I've just did in less than a minute (the sea polygons can be extracted from OpenStreetMap):

Attached File  output.png   381.61KB   30 downloads