3 replies to this topic

meetlens

meetlens

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ghana

Hi,
I am about to establish Ground control pillars (GCP) for orthorectification.There are rules about how to establish the GCP.They include Horizontal accuracy of 75cm(Rmse), Vertical accuracy of 125cm(Rmse).Also how do I distribute the GCP so as to achieve the best accuracy.How do I estimate the accuracy for both vertical and horizontal. Last but not the least, how do I create a Digital Elevation Model (DEM) for the said area.Please help me because I need it urgently and I am new to this.
Thank you.

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,308 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

Hi, I deleted your duplicate posts in another area of the forum.

Regarding your question - this are quite specific photogrammetry/surveying questions - I wouldn't have too high hopes in getting good responses...

But for the GCPs, I guess they should be evenly distributed over the surveyed area. Using a GPS you get coordinates, and the GPS should give you the error when you average the points. I guess you would look at features that are easy to locate in a satellite/aerial view.

How to create a detailed DEM for the area - if you can't use a DEM that has already been created (global dataset, national survey etc) you would have to use survey technologies, includinding ground/aerial lidar/radar surveys...
Hugo Ahlenius
Nordpil - custom maps and GIS
http://nordpil.com/
Twitter

Earthscientist

Earthscientist

Contributor

• PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • No Country Selected

Hi,