14 replies to this topic

eogphp

eogphp

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • France

Hello all,
This is my first post. I am pretty new to web design and certainly to dynamic cartography. I am very interested by some of the complicated solutions discussed on this forum, most of which greatly exceed my own needs.

I am currently trying to build a website based on a pretty small dataset of archaeological sites (about 300 churches). I am pretty confident that I will be able to design a good PHP/MySQL database search function to allow for searching by feature (eg list all churches containing X,Y, and Z features). The result of the query should then link to the static HTML page of each site which give all the info on the particular church. (Any criticism of this basic model also very welcome!).

Ideally however, I would like to be able to display the result of the searches on a map to facilitate regional comparison. The way I would like to have it would be for the map to show all 300 sites and then for those ones which match the search query to be highlighted (ie all 300 in grey, and the matching sites in red). It would be nice too if the dots on the maps then linked to the static HTML page of the site in question.

I already have photoshop version of the map - ie layered images which are perfect for publicatishing interesting patterns of my own choosing, but I would love to have a dynamic map dependent on the searches of my website users.

Any ideas? Is my model entirely wrong. Is PHP/MySQL the wrong choice? Would I have to go down the route of Flash? Could Flash performing complex queries of the database?

As you can see, I am a true novice but am very willing to learn!!! Please help.
-eogphp

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,833 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

Have a look at this:
Points on Google Maps, using PHP and MySQL