7 replies to this topic

valhalarising

valhalarising

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • United States

Attached File  LenapeManhattanMap.jpg   393.08KB   194 downloadsJust looking to get all of your guys advice. To give a background, I'm currently a college student in a GIS program. This is really the first true attempt at cartography that I've done. Thanks!

razornole

razornole

Legendary Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 452 posts
  • Interests:Photography, Cartography, Down-river canoeing, Backpacking, Cross country biking, Geomorphology, Ornithology, Ecology, Quaternary, and last but first; drinking beer on the beach.
  • United States

For starters I would make sure that the legend matches the basemap. None of the colors correlate to each other. IMO there are way too many variables for a static map, I could never differentiate between six shades of green, esp if they are semi-transparent. You will also want to clean up your legend as well, for example if you capitalize communities do it throughout. Why are some plural and others not. Could you just map/label Lenape Village/Cropland and then have a title in your legend that reads Ecological Communities; Forest, Marsh, Tidal, Deepwater, etc... that way you don't have to keep repeating Communities.

Your title reads Manhattan Island 1609, I would go out on a limb and say that all those piers, streets, blocks, cities, etc... did not exist in 1609. Your title should state what the map is. In your case, Present day Manhattan Island with ecological communities of 1609 overlaid (or something along that line, obviously it needs to be more curt).

There is a nice clean feel to this map, but that might come at a communicative cost.

Hope this helps,
kru
"Ah, to see the world with the eyes of the gods is geography--to know cities and tribes, mountains and rivers, earth and sea, this is our gift."
Strabo 22AD

valhalarising

valhalarising

Contributor

• Validated Member