6 replies to this topic

map_maker5280

map_maker5280

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United States

Greetings all!

I've been a long time list lurker and have decided to officially join the fun!

I've been involved in surveying / mapping / GIS for over 25 years (just turned 50 - hence the 'Oldie' in the topic title!). When I was in college the cartography was all manual, and my first taste of surveying was with a plane table and alidade. The first GPS unit I used took a car battery to operate (mid 1980's), and with GPS being so new to us we followed up our GPS observations with geodetic traverses and astros to check our work.

I've been using ESRI software since the mid to late 1980's (back then we were running Arc/INFO on a Prime Computer), though these days I also use QGIS, Manifold, and a few other odds and ends to get the job done. I prefer the spatial data side of GIS, and some of my maps have made it in publications and on the Internet. I've also done stints on professional boards, presented at local and national conferences, and even managed to be involved with beta testing for a couple of GIS / mapping software packages.

These days I find myself slowing down a bit on my GIS skills and programming, but I am still pretty active on the spatial data side and the map making. I miss being out in the field, but I still find my work interesting enough to get out of bed in the morning!

I enjoy reading the posts as it has given me new ways to look at mapping.

Tom

DaveB

DaveB

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,057 posts
  • United States

Welcome, Tom!

(although, I (rep)resent the "just turned 50 - hence the 'Oldie' in the topic title" remark, having passed that milestone a few years back. But I was a late bloomer, not getting into this field until the 90's.) :P
Dave Barnes
Esri
Product Engineer
Map Geek

Paul H

Paul H

Paul from JIMAPCO

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 74 posts
  • United States