• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

ridingthepine

ridingthepine

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • No Country Selected

I've browsed this site for a few months now, but have never posted, so hopefully this is in the right area.

I've got a fellowship doing GIS with an urban renewal project, and one of the tasks they would like me to try an complete is to create an interactive web-based map that would allow people to enter their address and find the projects that are underway or proposed near them. Through undergrad and now in grad school i've had plenty of experience with ArcGIS software, have used open street map, and google earth. Unfortunately I haven't taken any courses on programming.

I was hoping some of you fine folks might have a good idea about how I could accomplish this. I don't know if Google Maps API would allow a interactive map like this to be built, or if there is another program/way that I could go about putting something like this together. I have all the data I need, and all the resources, but just need a push in the right direction for getting it put together.

Thanks!

Matthew Hampton

Matthew Hampton

Hall of Fame

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,309 posts
  • Interests:Playing in the mountains and rivers.
  • United States

Hello and welcome to Cartotalk.

I've worked on projects similar to this in the past and can offer some information on the choices we have made. There are many options available, however within the spectrum of complexity, I am assuming you might be looking for something simple. If you want folks to be able to input an address you'll need a geocoding service. The Google Maps API provides a free geocoding service that works pretty decently - however there are others out there (and you could always build your own).