tonyw

tonyw

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
  • Canada

Hi,
I've just joined CartoTalk, this looks like a very lively and active group. I use GIS in the course of my work which primarily is assisting clients in planning the use of lands and natural resources. I enjoy the occasional times I get to fire up the GIS software and create maps to show spatial relationships in information. I have been using Manifold for the past 6 years. For clients with limited budgets I use qGIS when introducing GIS to their organizations. I'm looking forward to joining the conversation here and learning more about mapping and cartography.

I'm based in Vancouver, British Columbia on the west coast of Canada. The climate is mild, we rarely get snow, and the food is great (very multicultural).

Adam Wilbert

Adam Wilbert

Legendary Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • United States

Hi Tony!

I'm just a bit south of you across the border in Bellingham, WA.

qGIS is one of those things that I keep meaning to pick up and learn but I haven't quite gotten around to it, so I'm sure you'll find plenty of opportunity to share your tips and tricks while learning more about cartography around here. It's a great little community.

Adam Wilbert
CartoGaia.com & AdamWilbert.com
Lynda.com author of "Up and Running with ArcGIS"

Charles Syrett

Charles Syrett

Ultimate Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 537 posts
  • Canada

Hi Tony, and welcome. I'm in Nelson, 8 hours east of you. Similar weather, except we get a white Christmas here!

Charles Syrett
Map Graphics
http://www.mapgraphics.com

James Hines

James Hines

James Anthony Hines

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 537 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, Philosophy, Politics, Psychology, Economics, Occultism, Spiritualism
  • Canada