Noob to Cartotalk

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

egwess

egwess

• Pip
  • 4 posts
  • United States

Hi I'm currently an Archaeology Technician Intern at Joshua Tree National Park, Southern California.. I want to pursue parks archaeology and I love GIS.. and data management for archaeological sites is generally pretty wanting from what i've seen of the national parks.

Looking forward to learning a lot with Cartotalk on how to make things work well and look cool with GIS!

LIZZY

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,295 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

Hi and welcome, I think you will learn loads of useful things here!
Hugo Ahlenius
Nordpil - custom maps and GIS
http://nordpil.com/
Twitter

DaveB

DaveB

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,036 posts
  • United States

That sounds like an interesting job/field (although, I wouldn't want to work in Joshua Tree in the summertime. ha ha). Welcome !
Dave Barnes
Esri
Product Engineer
Map Geek

Adam Wilbert

Adam Wilbert

Legendary Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 271 posts
  • United States

Hi Lizzy,

My grandfather lives in Joshua Tree and many of my most cherished childhood memories were forged in that beautiful landscape. Summertime or not, I would take a job in Joshua Tree in a heartbeat!

I'm surprised that you mentioned that the data management program is lacking. From my extremely limited experience talking to NPS archaeologists and watching them methodically dig through and screen a patch of land up here at Ebey's Landing NHR, I got the complete opposite impression. The size of the team and attention to detail astounded me. And all of that activity was in response to someone finding a single human tooth that I would have mistaken for a pebble. :)