• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

mpphipps

mpphipps

• Pip
  • 1 posts
  • United States

Hi Cartotalkers!

I'm looking for an apprentice cartographic or GIS position to expand my skills in the mapping and cartographic fields. I'm also interested in an internship, or any position that might broaden my experience. I am a May 2010 graduate of Virginia Tech with a B.A. in Geography and a History double major, with a 3.46 GPA. I am highly organized and detail oriented. I have natural communication skills and I am self-motivated and efficient in my work.

I feel that my excitement for the field and willingness to work in a wide range of positions that might grow my knowledge of GIS makes me a worthy candidate. I’m a very hard worker, and I’m always willing to go the extra mile. Any desired skills that I may lack, I can more than make up for by being a quick learner and quite trainable. I have a great appreciation for doing a job well, and producing the best possible result, as all of my references can attest.

My geography major provided extensive hands-on experience with ArcGIS through both supervised lab experience as well as team project experience. In our teams we were required to complete many mapping and GIS assignments that gave me the necessary foundation to take my next steps in this field. These projects required the manipulation and interpretation of data, as well as the subsequent illustration of this data through well-planned cartographic productions. My experience aiding an Old Dominion University professor in researching geographic terms for a textbook glossary helped to fine tune my ability to communicate concisely, as well as solidify my foundation in geography. My past and current jobs have cultivated the ability to quickly transition between and execute multiple assignments, as well as work independently and with a team.