4 replies to this topic

ravells

ravells

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 144 posts
  • United Kingdom

Hi all, I've decided to take the plunge and teach myself how to use GIS software. Since this is strictly a hobby, I'm not splashing out on the expensive end like ArcGis, but I've downloaded QGis which comes bundled with Grass (so to speak). I'm an experienced photoshop and Illustrator (equivalent) user which I have been using to create maps of fantasy places, but I thought it would be good to add 'real life' to my inventory :)

For some reason QGis returns an error on my computer and doesn't run, but Grass (the TclTk version) works fine.

In order to teach myself, I have bought an introductory book: 'GIS a visual approach' by Bruce E Davies, which is giving me a really good overview of what GIS applications are, how they work and what they're used for.

Can I ask a few questions please?

1. Am I right in thinking that (at least for initial learning purposes) I don't need to worry about not having QGis running and that Grass is good enough to learn the fundamentals?

2. Are there any books you can recommend to a complete beginner like myself which don't overlap hugely with the book I already have?

3. Do you have any tips or recommendations for a beginner?

Many thanks in advance!

Create beautiful fantasy maps at the Cartographers' Guild

My Portfolio

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,857 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

For some reason QGis returns an error on my computer and doesn't run, but Grass (the TclTk version) works fine.

Funny, for me it's usually the other way around ;)

In order to teach myself, I have bought an introductory book: 'GIS a visual approach' by Bruce E Davies, which is giving me a really good overview of what GIS applications are, how they work and what they're used for.