• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

Gene Keyes

Gene Keyes

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Interests:world politics, world peace, world map cartography, B.J.S. Cahill, Buckminster Fuller, Robert Heinlein, Esperanto
  • Canada

2011-12-16

In an earlier thread, I introduced my work on B.J.S. Cahill's octahedral world map projection, via a detailed critique of Buckminster Fuller's Dymaxion map, as compared to Cahill's; and likewise of Steve Waterman's recent octahedral maps. I also mentioned my own modification, the Cahill-Keyes Octant Graticule.

Now I am seeking input -- both programming and/or GIS content -- for a long term project I've been nurturing since 1975: a 1/1,000,000 Megamap in the Cahill-Keyes octahedral layout, plus smaller versions of the same thing, down to 1/200,000,000 or less, and any number of derivative maps.

This is a hobbyhorse, not a commercial venture. I hope it to be an open-source world map archetype for a wide variety of uses, from the simplest outline or grade school map, to the most elaborate global data display, and mashups I can hardly imagine. (I'd copyrighted the basic design of the map and graticule, but put this larger effort in Creative Commons.) The detailed exposition of that design can be found here (plus other links therein):

Cahill-Keyes Octant Graticule: Principles and Specifications, with Perl programs and OpenOffice.org 2.0 macros for 1/1,000,000 Megamap

Gene Keyes
2010-08-20

Abstract

How a complete one-degree graticule of an eight-octant world map at 1/1,000,000 is made with Perl and macros in a free OpenOffice.org 2.0 vector-drawing program on a $300 Asus netbook. This is another installment of my drafting notes for the Cahill-Keyes "Real-World" map. It describes only the graticule, in intricate detail, both as hand or computer drawn archetypes. Inputting GIS data is the next challenge.

******************** UPDATE