Photo

Software I should have in addition to ArcMap?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

Brent

Brent

• Pip
  • 1 posts
  • No Country Selected

Hi - I'm new to the board, and have been reading through the threads on freelance work.

My background is in GIS - both data analysis and map production (mostly with a city planning department). ArcMap is all I have ever used to produce maps, although now I'd like to expand my range a bit - I know the graphic capabilities of ArcMap are limited and there are a bunch of different options for other programs to create maps.

I'm interested in graphic design and am willing to put some time in learning new software, although I'd like to avoid having to purchase/learn more than one additional program.

Any advice?

razornole

razornole

Legendary Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 449 posts
  • Interests:Photography, Cartography, Down-river canoeing, Backpacking, Cross country biking, Geomorphology, Ornithology, Ecology, Quaternary, and last but first; drinking beer on the beach.
  • United States

Hi - I'm new to the board, and have been reading through the threads on freelance work.

My background is in GIS - both data analysis and map production (mostly with a city planning department). ArcMap is all I have ever used to produce maps, although now I'd like to expand my range a bit - I know the graphic capabilities of ArcMap are limited and there are a bunch of different options for other programs to create maps.

I'm interested in graphic design and am willing to put some time in learning new software, although I'd like to avoid having to purchase/learn more than one additional program.

Any advice?