• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

BillMathews

BillMathews

• Pip
  • 5 posts
  • United States

Hello,

I'm fairly new to GIS (one class under my belt) and I'm attempting to create a map for one of my professors. Really simple map with just some point features and I'm using a shaded relief map of Idaho as the base. My problem is that I can't get the point features to project correctly on the shaded relief. The have the same projection, I've changed the projection to see if that worked (it didn't) cleared all projections and started fresh but nothing works. I do get an error occasionally saying something to the effect that some projections don't match (but they all do) which can cause some drawing errors (sorry paraphrasing can't remember exactly what the error was).

Thanks for any help,

Bill

Edited by BillMathews, 07 January 2011 - 03:00 PM.

Laura Miles

Laura Miles

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Canada

Are the projections of the data the same as the map document (I'm assuming you're using ArcGIS)? That still shouldn't cause one dataset to be off from another though. What are the steps you have been taking?
Laura

dsl

dsl

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • United States

Make sure when you are changing projections you use the define projection tool to set a file's existing projection (presuming it is known), and the project tool to actually change to differing projection.

Hope that helps,
David

BillMathews

BillMathews

• Pip
  • 5 posts
  • United States

Thanks for your replies

Laura, yes I'm using ArcGIS 9.3 and the projection are the same on everything. The only steps that I have taken so far is to add my shaded relief and then bring in my point data (which was undefined). I defined the point data by importing the projection from the shaded relief. Once they didn't line up I attempted to redefine the projection on both layers but still a no go.