• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

snobblepopkin

snobblepopkin

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • United States

I'm a novice ArcMap user and was hoping someone could point me in the right direction. I want to trace this aerial photo I have and turn it into a map. I downloaded the MrSID image I want from the US Government, but I can't figure out how to "edit" it in ArcMap. I want to create a shapefile that I can export into Illustrator.

If I drag the raster dataset into ArcMap and the image appears fine, but "Start Editing" in the edit toolbar is grayed out and unavailable. Am I supposed to be using the ArcScan extension? How do I go about tracing a MrSID image / raster dataset?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,301 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

You need to create a new feature class/shapefile that you can edit first - all your edits will land in this object. Check out the toolbox and the help file for creating a new layer.
Hugo Ahlenius
Nordpil - custom maps and GIS
http://nordpil.com/
Twitter

SaultDon

SaultDon

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Interests:Environmental/Wildlife GIS, Aboriginal Land Use and Occupancy
  • Canada

There are also some good tutorials from ESRI's help: Editing Tutorial

This is editing specifically in ArcGIS 10, but I am sure similar tutorials can be found for the other help versions: 9.3 Editing Tutorial (PDF)

The editing environment has been re-vamped in V10 with noticeable changes to the snapping environment (it has become more intuitive, AutoCAD style)

Gretchen Peterson

Gretchen Peterson

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 238 posts
  • United States