• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,304 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

Hi... I just got the idea to try to investigate if one can easily make some GIS based maps projected on a 3d globe - a bit like these: Posted Image

It obviously have to be data and information that is not too detailed (like country statistics) and it has to be covering maximum one hemisphere (preferably a bit less)

I have ArcGlobe, but I have no experience in it. I don't have any access to any fancy 3d software (and don't really have the time/energy to play with that).

It won't be vector, but one possibility would be to create a decently nice map in Illustrator in plate carrée and then projected it using xplanet, outputting a high res png.
One could then bring it back into Illustrator and labels and stuff on top. A problem there would be that stylings might be distorted close to the poles (for instance a glow around the coasts). I might experiment with that, just to see what the result would look like...
Hugo Ahlenius
Nordpil - custom maps and GIS
http://nordpil.com/
Twitter

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,872 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

Check out Blender. It's an open-soure 3D package, quite rich in features. You could make a map in whichever GIS or cartographic package you prefer, export it in plate-carree and then map it onto a sphere in Blender.

I've never worked with it to be honest. Not seriously anyway... But there is a large user community and several good tutorials out there to get you started.
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

DaveB

DaveB

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,054 posts