9 replies to this topic

Christina Z.

Christina Z.

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • United States

Historic Chagrin (Picture about 2MB)

I work as a watershed coordinator and make watershed maps all day. Most of the time they need to be pretty cut and dry. Nothing fancy, nothing special. They just have to show the communities around the watershed, the watershed's drainage divides, important political boundaries (counties, townships, etc), and relevant waterbodies and waterways.

I decided to make a new watershed map for the Chagrin River Watershed, which drains to Lake Erie in Northeast Ohio. This time around, I wanted to make sure it still showed relevant information, but was kinda fun to look at to boot. I found the "Historical" package from ESRI's resource site and ran with it. The municipalities and townships were done with the "parchment" fills from that package. I created my own buffered fills for the shoreline hatches and the sub-watershed boundaries.

I like the way it's going for the most part. I do worry that it's too busy, and it's hard to label the communities and sub-watersheds in a manner that fits everything in neatly and legibly. Also does anyone know of any good "sea monster" font or image packages that I could use for this? The Historical package came with some good ships and hills but no monsters!

-CZ

Dennis McClendon

Dennis McClendon

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,083 posts
  • Interests:map design, large-scale maps of cities
  • United States

What is the advantage of this over a map that is readable and useful?
Dennis McClendon, Chicago CartoGraphics
chicagocarto.com

Christina Z.

Christina Z.

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • United States

What is the advantage of this over a map that is readable and useful?