• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

MapMania

MapMania

• Pip
  • 3 posts
  • United States

Hello All,

I am a GIS student in Colorado. These are 2 of the maps I have made so far for my Cartography class. I am falling in love with Cartography and I think I want to make this my career. Do any of you have any tips for someone starting out? I have an internship lined up through the school for the spring, but with such a special field I am not sure how to go about getting stable work as a Cartographer. I know I need more experience with the different software, but I have my BA in Geography already. What does an entry level Cartographer need?

Does anyone have any constructive criticism for these maps? ;)

http://i21.photobuck...housemappic.jpg

http://i21.photobuck...10/finalGOG.jpg

Edited by Hans van der Maarel, 27 October 2010 - 12:18 AM.
made links clickable

DaveB

DaveB

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,054 posts
  • United States

For the global energy consumption maps a diverging color scheme would be better. That way you could group the surpluses together with one hue and the deficits with a different hue, and "group" the "less classes" and "large" classes by value or lightness, for example.
ColorBrewer is a great resource for various color schemes. It can be educational as well as practical.

The "Walk in the Park" map has a typo - reference, not "referance".
The map elements, scale bars, legend, text boxes, north arrow, all seem scattered about. You might consider consolidating some of them. For example, you could combine the 2 scale bars and just have labels for the 2 units (or, maybe better, only include the one unit that would be most useful to the map users). Also removing or toning down some of the bright colors. Again, looking at the scale bars - why the strong green and red?

Think about audience, the main purpose of the map, and visual hierarchy.