Starting a business in GIS/Cartography

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

madmax64

madmax64

• Pip
  • 1 posts
  • United States

I have been thinking about starting my own GIS/Cartography business. I have 20+ years of experience in GIS at the County government. Now, I'm unemployed thanks to the County's irresponsible budgeting.

Anyway, is it possible for anyone, like me, to start a GIS business? I looked up in local yellow pages, I don't see GIS business in there. I found only one "map sales" business. I know that GIS is excellent for government agencies, but what about private-owned business?

If you think it's possible to run a private-owned GIS/Cartography business, what are my target audience (who are my clients? who are my consumers?). For example, a soccer-mom isn't interested in GIS/cartography products.

I need your expert opinion about private-owned GIS & Cartography business. Thanks!

-charles

Matthew Hampton

Matthew Hampton

Hall of Fame

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,292 posts
  • Interests:Playing in the mountains and rivers.
  • United States

I will pass along some sage information I recieved when I asked a successful cartographer (Stuart Allen) a similar question about getting into the business.
His reply?

"Marry someone rich."

--
Good luck! :D

Oregon Metro - Portland, OR
www.oregonmetro.gov

natcase

natcase

Ultimate Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 569 posts
  • Interests:cartography
    aeshetics
    cartographic design
    John Bartholomew
    road maps
    large-scale mapping
  • United States

If you think it's possible to run a private-owned GIS/Cartography business, what are my target audience (who are my clients? who are my consumers?). For example, a soccer-mom isn't interested in GIS/cartography products.