7 replies to this topic

kunigami

kunigami

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Brazil

Hi,

I'm studying a problem regarding proportional symbol maps, using as symbols, opaque circles. In my problem, an input consists of the set of circles that are showed in the map. Each circle is given by the cartesian coordinates of its center (x, y) and by its radius.

In general, data is given in latitute, longitude and quantity. Coordinates (x, y) are obtained from (lat, lon) through some projection. The area is proportional to the quantity, so radius is proportional to the square root of this quantity. But, choosing the "proportion factor" is done visually, right?

My two questions are:

1) What's the best tool to visualize those disks and choose this "proportion factor", in such a way that I can later obtain the coordinates and radius of the disks?

2) Is there any database with the coordinates of the symbols already projected and its radius already defined by some cartographer?

Thanks,

CHART

CHART

Chart

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 358 posts
  • No Country Selected

This link might be of help.

http://jenny.cartography.ch/legend/
Chart

kunigami

kunigami

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Brazil

This link might be of help.

http://jenny.cartography.ch/legend/

Sorry, I couldn't see how this might help with what I've asked.

l.jegou

l.jegou

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Interests:Webmapping, thematical mapping.
  • France

1) What's the best tool to visualize those disks and choose this "proportion factor", in such a way that I can later obtain the coordinates and radius of the disks?

2) Is there any database with the coordinates of the symbols already projected and its radius already defined by some cartographer?

Hi, i don't know if i understand clearly your questions, it could be useful to provide some context (what type of project : software dev., map production ?)