5 replies to this topic

boeraliz

boeraliz

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Switzerland

Hello to all!

Maybe it is a bit off topic, but I see people with GIS working experience are gathered here, so I might give it a shot...and I really really need some advice on this one.

A bit of myself: I was studying Tourism in Romania at the Geography Dept. (dont ask, they arent related that much of course) and I had my first experience with GIS. I mean we had only 2 GIS courses, but I fell in love with it. Thats why I applied for an internship, which went very well, but in the end I didnt get hired and mainly, because I didnt have a degree in GIS.
Now I am starting my Master studies at the University of Zurich, but like I did back home at the Geography Dept. and I am afraid that it wont work out after all. I was searching for job offers and suddenly it hit me. Since I have no backgrounds in Informatics I am having doubts about finding a job basically with a Geography degree in the GIS field. Nearly every post is talking about engeneering, software developers, geomatics or cartography experience and I dont have any, what should I do?

Feel free to post any ideas, suggestions or advice. I would really appreciate it! Thank you very much!

Have a nice day,

Alice

Kathi

Kathi

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Interests:geology, GIS, cartography, famlily, reading, cooking, travelling, gardening
  • Switzerland

Hi Alice and welcome to CartoTalk!

My own experience (in Switzerland, don't know about other countries) was that in the end it's not necessarily a question of having the right degree but rather of having experience in a certain field. I have a Master in Geology but had the possibility to do a 6 month internship with the cartography department of the Swiss Army, followed by a 6 month project, all being 100% GIS work. What I know now about GIS and Cartography, I learnt there, on the job.