• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

ericmark

ericmark

• Pip
  • 4 posts
  • United States

Hi guys and gals,

I have been reading through these forums for a while now and have appreciated all of the help I have found through other users questions being answered :) I am a social studies student and have taken an intro to gis course in order to complete a project I started a long time ago and now I am almost complete but am completely clueless on how to finish things up.

I have an excel file with two columns, each contains the name of a street and I want to find the distance between the streets in the columns next to each other. I don't have any information for the streets except the name of the street. In Arcgis I have a layer that contains a map of the city I am interested in. What would be the easiest way to find the distance between the streets? One guy told me I would have to geocode all of the streets in my excel file but another guy told me there should be a way to determine the distance simply based on the names on the streets because the names also appear in the source of the map in Arcgis. I am super confused and would appreciate any help.

Thanks for your time!

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,891 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands