17 replies to this topic

Steve

Steve

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • United States
Hello all!

-My name is Steve, I'm new to this forum.
But I wanted to get some input from you on what is the World's largest map?

I graduated with a BA in Geography, emphasizing in cartography, so I have a good idea about the difficulties in defining what is truly a map and what isn't. So there will likely not be a cut and dry answer to this question.

The large maps I'm aware of are:
The Map of Route 66 in Meteor City, NM (100'x8')
De Langste Kaart in Rotterdam, Netherlands (544'x5')
Eartha, the Globe at Delorme HQ (41' diameter)
The Challenger Map of British Columbia (85'x78')
and the US Navy Memorial in Washington, DC (100' diameter)

Also, I've heard rumors of a Map in Beijing made out of soil, that was supposedly to hold the Guinness record, but Ive never heard of any dimentions.
Someone also told me of a very large map on a wall in an Airport somewhere.

Also, a few things that challenge the definition of "Map":
The Garden of Australian Dreams in Canberra, Australia (1.4 acres)
Taman Mini (or little Indonesia) in Jakarta (3000' x 1000')
and "The World" currently under construction in Dubai, UAE (9mi x 6mi)

Do you guys have anything to input into this list? Any other large maps you've seen?

I'd love any input you could give.

Thanks.

-Steve

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,881 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

Hi Steve, welcome to the forum.

The 'Langste kaart' (longest map) in Rotterdam was at that time reported in the papers as being the largest map in the world.

I checked the Guinness book of world records online, but they don't have a largest map category unfortunately.
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

Steve

Steve

• Validated Member
  • Pip