A little bit about Southern Survey

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

Southern Survey

Southern Survey

• Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United States

I graduated from Texas A&M University in '04 with a liberal arts degree in history and cultural geography. Ironically I fell into geomatics and I have worked as a surveyor for the past 6 years. After becoming a registered professional licensed surveyor, I opened my own firm that specializes in topographic design and construction layout here in Longview, TX. My drafting experience is that of legal plats and site plans. I wanted to expand my firm to offer mapping.

My GIS background is shaky at best. I remember in some of my undergraduate courses finishing maps with pencils rather than fight an unknown mapping program. I have been looking at some fantastic maps and I would like to offer that quality of production to the civil engineers and real estate developers in East Texas, their planning diagrams aren't too aesthetically pleasing.

What I really wanted to get help on with this forum is suggestions on software and reference books. Does anyone know of a good book and economical program that will allow me to start making quality maps? I am not talking about data maps, but It seems to me that a graphic design skill set is what will dominate quality cartography. Anyway, always welcome to suggestions and I will keep reading the post.

Your friend
Casey

razornole

razornole

Legendary Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 452 posts
  • Interests:Photography, Cartography, Down-river canoeing, Backpacking, Cross country biking, Geomorphology, Ornithology, Ecology, Quaternary, and last but first; drinking beer on the beach.
  • United States

Welcome Casey,

Glad to see someone from Longview, I grew up in Gilmer and still have family there.