6 replies to this topic

Ann

Ann

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • United States

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post and let me say that I am so glad to have found this forum.

I am a successful art director (an advanced graphic designer who supervises other graphic designers and develops design strategy for clients).

I already create maps and info graphics. Have been designing info graphics for a zillion years, but I've only been creating maps for a year or so. I sort of "fell" into it. A client in the oil industry had needs -- I filled them.

I love it!!

I want to learn more, I want to learn about GIS and map making software and everything else. . . what else is there?

I'm I'm not your typical 'designer' I have a Bachelor's of Science from Northwestern in a completely unrelated field, I actually "fell" into graphic design about 15 years ago. I had a minor in art and just happened to be very good at design.

I think what I like about Cartography is that it requires so much more than just my visual skills -- it engages rest of my brain as well.

I guess what I am asking here is -- where do I start? Tell me about different aspects of cartography. Are there books? Should I take classes. In exchange I can contribute design feedback and design software tips to the forum.

Please, fill me in.

Thank you. Ann

Teeds

Teeds

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Interests:photography<br />old buildings<br />small towns<br />dual sport motorcycles<br />canoeing
  • United States

Ann:

I fell into cartography in a way myself ... digitally at least. I worked for a civil engineer in a past life, became an architect/general contractor and am now the president of a group that owns two recreation areas with lots of trails. Back in the day, I made many 4 color overlay maps the hard way ... with pen and ink.