• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

ghaney86

ghaney86

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • No Country Selected

I'm working on a project for a class in which I'm trying to figure out a GIS model for mountainous terrain. Basically, each point should have elev, slope, aspect, and I've got a bunch of temp data from data loggers that are the main point of the research. My professor suggested a fishnet, to capture all of the data into one "surface". The raster info is fine, I can create a fishnet with the interpolated elev, and each point in the fishnet has the elev. But the point data (data loggers) is an Excel file that I've converted into a point layer. I need to get this data (with years of temps) into the fishnet. I've never used a fishnet before a couple of weeks ago. Any help?

Or is there another, better tool that I should be using?

Any help would be great! Thanks,

Gerald

Charlie Frye

Charlie Frye

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Interests:Base map design/data model, political/election maps; use of historical maps for modern GIS analysis
  • United States

I would definitely recommend going the raster route. The tools to explore using are the interpolation tools. By using a raster the concept of cell size takes the place of the fishnet. I would suggest working with your professor to agree on the best tool for interpolating the points.