15 replies to this topic

Pete Y.

Pete Y.

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • United States

...and I'm a GIS Analyst from Redlands, CA. It's only by sheer coincidence that I live there, though; I'm a contractor mapping wildfires at Camp Pendleton Marine Corps Base (they have possibly the most frequent fires in the country, it really is a full time job). So I spend a lot of time doing fieldwork, and a lot of time producing maps (mainly for technical reports). I have degrees in geography from Penn State and then Syracuse, where Mark Monmonier was on my thesis committee. I think the site administrator must have known him too...? But that doesn't mean I'm good at this stuff or anything. :blink:

I'm trying to apply sound cartographic principles to the GIS chaff I put out on a daily basis. I work mostly in ESRI products and Photoshop. I stumbled on this site today and now wonder how I got along without it. I could see immediately how useful this could be for my own maps. I could definitely use the help...

Martin Gamache

Martin Gamache

Ultimate Contributor

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 980 posts
  • Interests:History of Topographic Cartography
    Topographic Mapping
    History of Relief Depiction
    Thematic Cartography
    Demographic Cartography
    Cartographic techniques, methods, and tools
    Orienteering
    Panoramic & Kite Photography
  • United States

Welcome Pete!

Looking forward to seing some fire maps. This is a new interest of mine since I recently learned how to estimate fire temperature from satellite imagery!!!

ELeFevre

ELeFevre

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,049 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, musical instruments, reading, hiking, craft beer
  • United States

Hi Pete,