• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

Kathi

Kathi

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Interests:geology, GIS, cartography, famlily, reading, cooking, travelling, gardening
  • Switzerland

Hi everyone!

I stumbled upon this site through a link on a different forum and immediately registered. What a great site!!

My background is actually in geology, through a field mapping campaign I got into touch with GIS. But ever since I was a small child I loved looking at maps, spent hours travelling in my mind with an atlas on my knees, exploring unknown far-away countries. And so I consider myself very lucky to have spent a year working with the cartography team of the Swiss army, where I picked up a huge lot of ideas and concepts.

My work now has gone back to geology, but I'm the GIS technician in our company, and in a certain way also the chief mapmaker here. So I'm hoping I can keep on learning lots by browsing through CartoTalk. ... and having fun, with topics like the "Guess that location" thread in the off-topic section.

Cheers,
Kathi
Cheers,

Kathi

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,884 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

But ever since I was a small child I loved looking at maps, spent hours travelling in my mind with an atlas on my knees, exploring unknown far-away countries.

I think all of us here have been doing that ;)

Welcome to Cartotalk!
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

DaveB

DaveB

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,054 posts
  • United States

But ever since I was a small child I loved looking at maps, spent hours travelling in my mind with an atlas on my knees, exploring unknown far-away countries.

I think all of us here have been doing that ;)