• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

Rocca

Rocca

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Mexico

Hello I am very new at this and let me know if anyone could help or advise me.

My job is to make a truck route map of the metropolitan area in Jalisco, Mexico.

The problems that arise in me are:

. The design of the city is very large, it covers several municipalities.
. Truck routes are too many, about 300 routes, since many of the same route several aspects (eg path 629, 629a, 629B, 629C, etc.).
. The map is to print and canvas size is very small 90 x 60cm
. The city is very poorly organized in terms of their experience.

My process:

. Based on a map of AUTOCAD to trace the streets of the city and all truck routes exported it to Illustrator and then put colors and numbers of trucks

My questions:

I wonder if there is a special program to provide for truck route map?
Any advice based on your experience?
A number for the font?
Any advice to represent the city?

Greetings everyone, I hope to get many answers

Attached Files

Dennis McClendon

Dennis McClendon

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,083 posts
  • Interests:map design, large-scale maps of cities
  • United States

The design task is much like a bus map for a large city, where many routes converge on a small central area. I suggest
  • using a very simple basemap of single lines for all streets, in subtle colors
  • using four or five colors that have the same apparent weight or strength to help distinguish lines from each other.
  • putting the route numbers in circles or ovals of the same color (5 point numbers will be fine)
  • curving the route lines at intersections to aid the eye in following the route
These techniques can all be seen in the New York bus maps:

Posted Image