Maisie

Maisie

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 34 posts
  • United States
Hello all,
I'm a veteran cartographer using Illustrator, and I am one mouse-click away from applying to the Penn State (on-line) post-baccalaureate certificate program in GIS.

My finger is twitching. Before I commit myself, can anyone reassure me that it will really be an advantage to have this training? My interest is primarily in using GIS for historical research and I fear such jobs, being publicly funded or in the nonprofit sector, will be increasingly scarce in the future. On the other hand I can't compete for them without GIS training.

The alternative would be to turn my back on mapping altogether and move toward publishing/desktop publishing. But my job search in that area, with 20-odd years of cartography on my resume, has been more than a little discouraging.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Martha

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,890 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

Martha,

I think GIS skills are currently definately very valuable. The popularity of GIS is rising and hopefully the amount of jobs that require those skills will be on the rise as well.

One thing that may help you in your decision is talking to people who have recently followed the programme and see what they thought of it.

FWIW, I seriously considered Penn's programme several times myself in the past few years. The main reason why I decided not to do it was the fact that the course seemed to consist for roughly 30-40% of stuff that I was already competent in.

Hope this helps.
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

franciscocartographer

franciscocartographer

Key Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Interests:Maps, FC Barcelona, Cadiz CF, Phoenix Suns, Hiking