• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

GISGreenie

GISGreenie

• Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Canada

Hi all;

I'm new to both ArcMap and this forum so thanks in advance for any help you may be able to provide.

I'm writing today to see if anyone knows how to add a "Trackline" of data to a map in ArcMap. My dilemma is that I've loaded a satellite image and a base topo map, added a grid, added a point location, and all is well. I would like to be able to load a file (csv, text, excel, etc) of points and have this display as a trackline on the top of the map.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I may be able to do this? I feel it should use the "Add Route Events" feature, but I have no idea what to use when that feature asks me for a "Route Reference" and a "Route Identifier". I'd assume the Event Table would be my data? Perhaps I'm completely wrong...

Thanks so much in advance for any help you may be able to provide! :)

Laura Miles

Laura Miles

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Canada

I'm not sure what you mean by 'trackline', but it sounds like your real question may be how to load text or excel points into ArcMap. If that is so, you can go to the "Tools" menu and choose "Add XY data". Choose whichever field represents your X, whichever one represents your Y, etc. I believe they need to be in decimal degrees.
Route events is for route analysis, which I don't think from your description is what you are after. If you're looking to turn these points into a line, I think ET GeoWizards has a tool, Points to Polylines, unless you have an ArcInfo license in which case ArcMap should be able to do this. But first you'd need to go into ArcCatalog and convert your XY table to a spatial file by right-clicking it and clicking "Create Features" > "From XY Table". You'll have to pick your XY columns here as well.
Hope that made sense and was somewhat helpful!
Laura

GISGreenie

GISGreenie

• Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Canada