christine.skl

Key Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, Travel, Books, Music
  • China

Hello,
through this topic I am looking for some advise and your opinions too. I am a GIS student, and as GIS moves forward 3D is becoming a standard. But, I am a lucky GIS student - I had cartography courses with a cartographer working since early 70's in the map-making world, who did literally hundreds of publications and is an extremely strict professor. Yes, his first words about most of the maps are "This map is good for nothing" and than he explains every single messed up detail. I really don't want to receive such an opinion about my undergraduate thesis. And my professor is an expert in certain mapping questions, more than other, thus I seek advice here.

As not many guideliness or standards there are for 3D maps yet, I want to ask about 3D map symbol design. so first description:

A 3D interactive map of world's natural heritage. 3D means - a virtual spinning globe with places marked on it. World Natural heritage includes: The most stunning National Parks, Scenic spots, Underwater sceneries of the Earth. Now, each place of course will be placed on the globe.

Questions:
1. Should all the points have the same symbol or should they be divided into three categories? It seems to me that it's better to divide, but I have a doubt that using different colors will create a certain mess on the map (the map will be phisical map of the world with bordes of countries mapped). What do you think?

*GE=Google Earth

2. The symbols itself , for me personnaly it's easier to read 3D dots/spheres than to manage with symbols like GE* pins (a pin on the GE globe is distracting for me). I would prefer to see 3d dots/spheres on the virtual globe. Would you agree?