Photo

Cost Analysis Polygones (Creating Frontiers)

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

dav

dav

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 34 posts
  • Germany

Dear Community,
I want to create frontiers (Polygone-Layers) between points which are representing an equal DEM-derived cost value. Meaning I want to create some "cost-derived thiessen polygones". Unfortunately I'm not an expert at scripting or programming (I'm starting using R). Do you know any program or packages, which have such functions? Does anybody of you have some experience in working with cost-functions and has any suggestions where I can find some good sources for starting? I'm just starting with the cost-issue, but there are so much possibilities.
I've got a lot of other ideas dealing with cost-analysis. For example telling the function that it should create a polygone or polyline around a point, at a special value (based on a DEM) (e.g. the power of a traveller for one day).

I really want to do such cost analysis and if there are no ready programs, I have to code them myself and I will do if necessary. So if you got any suggestions, I will be very very grateful.

Some good theory is described here, but not the methods I want to use: http://dissertations....leusen/ch6.pdf

Thank you, dav

dsl

dsl

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • United States

Some commercial packages that have raster cost functions are ArcGIS with the Spatial Analyst extension, and IDRISI. Open source options might be GRASS, SAGA GIS, and something like SEXTANTE for gvSIG. You can check out www.freegis.org for other sources.