Photo

Merging Polygons- need help on a super easy subject!

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

puffpuff1013

puffpuff1013

• Pip
  • 3 posts
  • No Country Selected

Hi everyone! I know this is a really basic question, but I am really new to GIS and can't seem to figure it out. I am using a United States map from tiger. Each state is broken up by county. I need to merge the counties into larger sections (smaller than states but larger than counties). I know that when using the editor tool bar, I can select the features I want to merge, then click merge under the editor tool bar. My problem is that I can not click "merge" on the editor tool bar (it is in light gray). Am I doing this wrong and also is there an easier way to merge multiple polygons within a state? I know I can do syntax but I am not skilled with that at all! Thanks for any help!!!

I am using ArcMap 9_3

Edited by puffpuff1013, 19 April 2010 - 03:22 PM.

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,881 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

It'd be useful if you could tell us what software you're using.
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

puffpuff1013

puffpuff1013

• Pip
  • 3 posts
  • No Country Selected

Hi, thanks for the response. I am using ArcMap 9_3. Any suggestions?

Matthew Hampton

Matthew Hampton

Hall of Fame

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,310 posts
  • Interests:Playing in the mountains and rivers.
  • United States

I think the geoprocess you are looking for is "Dissolve." You can search for it in your Toolbox. It should work on selected features, but can be used on features that share a common attributes. You might also be interested in checking out the very large user group that is specifically related to ESRI software. It can be found on ESRI's website.