4 replies to this topic

TonyG4

TonyG4

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • United Kingdom

Hello,

I have a GIS degree & subsequently 12 years experience in GIS, however the course did have modules in Cartography. I need to edit and design some new maps, so have referenced my old notes.

I am really just after clarification of the terms Map Function & Map Purpose in respect of Cartographic Design.

My understanding of these terms is:

Map Purpose: What the map is for. The cartographer has to consider firstly, what the data is and how much is available (substantive purpose or objective) and secondly, how the map will look, who the end use is and what the map will be used for (affective purpose or objective).

Map Function: The maps function is to communicate information to the map reader. The three classes of map function being 'General Reference Maps', 'Thematic or Special Purpose Maps' and 'Charts'.

I also have notes detailing Map Function as firstly, Invariant Functions which include 'Carrying information' & 'Reflecting an explanation of what is there'. Secondly, Variant Functions which include 'Cognitively creating and/or enhancing spatial knowledge', ' Communication of spatial knowledge to the user', 'Decision support leading to action' and 'Social and behaviour changes related to map use'.

Are these Invariant & Variant Map Functions in a different context and when referring to Map Design I should be considering whether the Map Function will be 'General Reference Maps', 'Thematic or Special Purpose Maps' or 'Charts'?

Also have i got the correct understanding of Map Purpose above?

I hope these two questions make sense and any confirmation on these will be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Tony

natcase

natcase

Ultimate Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 569 posts
  • Interests:cartography
    aeshetics
    cartographic design
    John Bartholomew
    road maps
    large-scale mapping
  • United States