16 replies to this topic

DanTheMapMan

DanTheMapMan

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Canada

Well, I must say, this forum is my most exciting mapping internet find yet!

I have been making maps and doing GIS / GPS work since graduating in 2001, I took "Digital Cartography" at the Centre of Geographic Sciences, I also did an Advanced Diploma in Marine Geomatics. I have been in my current position with the City of Moncton GIS group since 2004. One of my latest accomplishments was getting one of my maps into the ESRI Calendar, and the same map was also chosen to go in the latest edition of the ESRI Map Book.

I am now working on this years edition of this map, and I will certainly be looking for some feedback on it at some point. This is a Tourist map of the city, which requires EVERY street to be named, along with many different attractions, trails, etc, etc. The biggest challenge of it is that they limit the paper size, and it makes it very hard to fit all the text.

I look forward to browsing the forums and getting feedback from other map makers & lovers!!

-Daniel

Jean-Louis

Jean-Louis

Ultimate Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 545 posts
  • Interests:In the vast ocean of my ignorance, I have a few bubbles of interests
  • Canada

Hi Daniel,
I just noticed you seemed to have fallen through the crack between 2 newbies without a proper welcome!
and from New Brunswick no less! (Acadien?)
So welcome to Cartotalk. We all look forward to your posts and contributions.
You should show the forum your ESRI calendar map. I am sure many would like to see it.
Jean-Louis Rheault
Montreal

DanTheMapMan

DanTheMapMan

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Canada

Thanks!

I am going to try and visit as often as possible!

here is a link to my Entry in the ESRI Calendar : http://www.esri.ca/english/9514.asp