7 replies to this topic

ravenfoot

ravenfoot

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Canada

Hello All,

My name is Chris Brackley, and I have been making maps for over 10 years. So deep in maps I have been, that I haven't taken the time to connect with the larger cartographic community. I am thrilled to have found this website, and look forward to discussions, conversations and insights.

I run a cartography business in Ontario Canada, focused on making maps which are environmentally, socially and artistically creative. We work primarily for non-profit organizations, our maps strive to boil often complex issues and connections down to simple graphic languge. Our last few years have been focused pointedly on refining our hill-shading and oblique (or bird's eye view) mapping techniques (see attached file for a quick example).

If you have a minute, please check out our recently updated website:
www.asthecrowfliescartography.ca

All the best,
Chris

Attached Files

KrafftyMan

KrafftyMan

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 39 posts
  • Interests:I like atmospheric science, geomorphology, cartography as well GIS.
  • United States

Chris,

Welcome to the site. As a new user here myself I can say there are a lot of interesting links and tips of the trade. I would be curious to read some of the tips in regards to your hillshade.

Cheers!

Matthew Hampton

Matthew Hampton

Hall of Fame

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,309 posts
  • Interests:Playing in the mountains and rivers.
  • United States

Hi Chris,

Nice work! Welcome to the Forum.

co-cartographic creator of boringmaps.com

MapMedia

MapMedia

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,029 posts
  • United States

Hi Chris, Welcome! Look forward to sharing ideas on the forum!

DanTheMapMan

DanTheMapMan

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Canada

very cool oblique mapping technique... I love the way you can see the elevation changes!

ravenfoot