• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

Jeanette

Jeanette

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United States

I'm fairly familiar with most of the features in ArcMap, but every once in a while I have a minor issue that I just don't know how to fix. I am doing a thesis that will measure accessibility, and I am having a serious scale issue. All shapefiles are projected in NAD 1983 StatePlane Ohio North FIPS 3401. The problem is that the scale bar and any distance measurements are way off: what should be a mile is being measured as about 0.000001 miles, and a 1/4 mile buffer around a location comes up as encircling the entire map. Also, the representation box is saying that "1 inch = 0 miles." Please tell me there is a simple fix that I am missing? Thanks!

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,309 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

Check the units settings for the data frame and in the options dialog. It may be that the scale you see is not in miles, but in degrees?
Hugo Ahlenius
Nordpil - custom maps and GIS
http://nordpil.com/
Twitter

jrat

jrat

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • United States

Double check your projection you might be in meters.

Jeanette

Jeanette

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United States

In the data frame properties, the map units are in meters, but I had changed display to miles, which didn't help. But even the meter measurements are off; a distance that I know to be a mile measures at 0.018 meters. Is it a projection problem? Two of the shapefiles are from the US Census (streets and county block groups), the third is a file made by geocoding addresses. I've used these data sources before and not had this problem.

DaveB

DaveB

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,054 posts
  • United States