snowgage

snowgage

Key Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts
  • United States

Good Afternoon,

I am interested in creating a web based mapping application. I've never done this before and dont know where the best place to start is. I'd like to have a simple but concise base map and then give users the ability to turn on/off layers with a set symbology.

I have access to ArcInfo and CS4.

I'd be willing to use GoogleEarth as a platform if that works although I'd prefer to use my own base data (truemarble and hillshades I've created).

Can anyone suggest a good place for me to start?

thanks in advance,

Josh

James Hines

James Hines

James Anthony Hines

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 545 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, Philosophy, Politics, Psychology, Economics, Occultism, Spiritualism
  • Canada

Good Afternoon,

I am interested in creating a web based mapping application. I've never done this before and dont know where the best place to start is. I'd like to have a simple but concise base map and then give users the ability to turn on/off layers with a set symbology.

I'd be willing to use GoogleEarth as a platform if that works although I'd prefer to use my own base data (truemarble and hillshades I've created).

thanks in advance,

Josh

If you can output a KML. If not & if you have CS4, then get MAPublisher if you can afford it & learn the Web Author Tool. Other then that take a lot of time & start reading material related to ASP.NET, JavaScript, Databases, & Structure Query Language. It will take a very long time for you to learn if not years of patience & discipline. For the time being focus on your strength & go to it.