Jake See

Jake See

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Singapore

hi everyone,

I completely new to this forum and to maps but i hope i can get some help here. Thanks for letting me in!

Now I am a student on a project to do terrain visualisation using data from GPS. I need to write a program to parse terrain info and display it in 3D. I need some starting point to getting the map input data at this stage. May I ask:

- are there are any such data available to download free or buy? I am expecting some file with many terrain xyz/lat-long coords? USGS seems to have, but i really cannot find. Most are rendered top down view of the geo area.

- is there a standard map file/data format for such data and purposes? How about popular software/data formats people are using in the indutry?

- I searched around and keep getting stuff related to USGS, MapPoint, MapX, MapInfo etc but I do not understand their relationship. Can someone explain or point to somewhere I can better understand what they do? Is there a video introduction or something?

- Furthermore, can someone explain what exactly is a "mapping" or "mapping software"? I figured it is a drawing program to draw maps that are not necessary real-world, plus various annotation features, however, none of the features are real time. Is that what is it?

Sorry for long post... hope someone can guide me abit. Thanks!

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,881 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

Hi Jake, and welcome to Cartotalk!

- are there are any such data available to download free or buy? I am expecting some file with many terrain xyz/lat-long coords? USGS seems to have, but i really cannot find. Most are rendered top down view of the geo area.