6 replies to this topic

Speerdm

Speerdm

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • United States

Hi Guys,

I´m still pretty new to cartography and like a lot of you, much of my skillset is self taught. However, I think I could really benefit in hearing some techniques in proofreading maps.

My specific problem is that when I think my map is complete and its been exported, I always seem to find a minor detail that really bothers me and I end up re-exporting. Is this a common problem? What are some things I can do to be more efficient? Sorry if this topic is a repeat or overly broad. Perhaps a good book is all I need. any recommendations??

Dave

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,888 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

My specific problem is that when I think my map is complete and its been exported, I always seem to find a minor detail that really bothers me and I end up re-exporting. Is this a common problem? What are some things I can do to be more efficient? Sorry if this topic is a repeat or overly broad. Perhaps a good book is all I need. any recommendations??

It's a common problem and there's not much you can do about it. Whenever possible I try and involve other people in proofreading maps. If you've spent a long time working on it, you're quite likely to miss those small details that somebody with a fresh point of view will spot right away.
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

Nicholas_C

Nicholas_C

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • United States