Laura Miles

Laura Miles

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Canada

Hi,
My name is Laura and I'm a GIS Technician in Vancouver, BC. I came to GIS through my love of cartography. I really wanted to be a Cartographer but felt that GIS would provide more employment opportunities. Far from being a shoddy second prize, I have found that GIS has allowed me a lot more creative freedom with my maps than the "Cartographer" positions I have held, which often had established cartographic standards which felt restrictive. However, cartography is my first love and so I am here to pick up any tips, tricks and to educate myself as much as I can. I am only a couple of years into my career and I look forward to learning from others' knowledge and experience!
Laura

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,806 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

Hi Laura, and welcome to Cartotalk. Feel free to add some samples of your work to the Map Gallery, we're always interested in seeing maps here ;)
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

DaveB

DaveB

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,037 posts
  • United States

I have found that GIS has allowed me a lot more creative freedom with my maps than the "Cartographer" positions I have held, which often had established cartographic standards which felt restrictive.

That's interesting and now that you mention it it makes sense.
Welcome! And as Hans said, feel free to post some of your maps, especially useful if you want some feedback and tips. Besides, we all love looking at maps. :)
Dave Barnes
Esri
Product Engineer
Map Geek

Charles Syrett

Charles Syrett

Ultimate Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 530 posts
  • Canada